Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

Masterpiece. No matter where you are (and where you’ve been), I’m certain you’ve stumbled upon something extraordinary: a place that blows your mind; a work of art or object that speaks to you; or even a location or scene that’s special, unusual, or even magical in some way.

Canterbury Cathedral has some of the finest medieval glass in the country (probably in the world)  and there are many miracle stories depicted on the stained glass windows. These windows once served to teach lessons to visitors of the place, many illiterate, who came from all over Europe to pray at the shrine of Thomas Beckett. Among the themes depicted on the windows were biblical stories and Christ’s genealogy. In fact, the oldest window that remains shows a picture of Adam digging in the Garden of Eden, the first figure in Jesus’s genealogy. Here are just a few of these wonderful masterpieces.

See more “masterpieces” at The Daily Post @ WordPress  Weekly Photo Challenge.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

    • Thanks for calling in – there are plenty of ways of interpreting a ‘Masterpiece’ so I am sure you’ll find something. And yes, it is fun 🙂
      Jude xx

    • They are that, and there are so many! It is a beautiful cathedral. I really need to find out more about the miracle stories. I am totally non religious, but the history of a place like this is fascinating.

    • I was wondering how you got here, but I suppose you followed my link on Carol’s site. I had to have a look around the blog too as I had forgotten what I’d posted here – almost always a single photo for a challenge, but there are some nice ones that I ought to re-use on the Travel blog.

      • Yes, you could. The African sunset is superb. When I look at last year’s posts I sometimes think ‘ooh, this is rather good! who wrote it?’ 🙂 🙂 I love being vain!

      • It just saddens me that at the time I posted a lot of my favourite photos no-one was following me. I started the blogs to provide somewhere for my images to go other than folders on my PC, so likes and followers weren’t important to me. Now though I enjoy the banter and feel it is a shame that a lot of these photos didn’t attract any comments. Anyway, here is one of the lighthouse I keep meaning to write about for you.
        http://wp.me/pL5Qv-4E
        It is in Cascais and I will do a post about Lisbon and Cascais eventually!

      • My blog is just like a gigantic travel diary, and I do quite like looking back. When I roll back through the images I do sometimes think I have a half-interesting life. 🙂

      • Not so much… I left home for London at 18, all starry eyed, came home pregnant to the guy I was engaged to and who swiftly decided he didn’t want any part… Lisa cramped my style for a lot of years, bless her, and a part of her has never forgiven me. You did ask! 🙂

      • Men (the wrong ones) had a lot to do with the way my life turned out too and my eldest boy has never forgiven me for whisking him away from South Africa. We had an interesting chat in Australia this visit. I think at last he is starting to understand (he’s now 40!!)

        You been following Cathy’s adventures lately? I can’t keep up with all those temples, all templed out! I do hope she is not serious about finding work in the Middle East / North Africa.

      • I know what you mean about Cathy. I think she’s the only person I know with worse wanderlust than me but she has a lot more gumption. Yes, one temple starts to look like another, unless you’re there in person.

I'd like to hear your opinion

